The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

Who needs lyrics? There are so many great songs that kill the vocals and let the rest of the band do the talking. This episode celebrates some of the best instrumental songs in rock, pop, and electronic. The one rule we applied to this is that the artist has to historically be a vocal-fronted band (i.e. no Dick Dale, Explosions in The Sky, Budos Band, etc…). So, enjoy! We’ll leave you with the immortal lyrics of a saccharine late 80’s country hit “ say it best, when you say nothing at all”

Track Listing:

  1. Yoga Means Union - Ambulance LTD, Ambulance LTD
  2. I Am Citizen Insane - Radiohead, COM LAG (2plus2isfive
  3. The Commercial, - Wire, Pink Flag
  4. “Det Du Tänker Idag Är Du Imorn” - Dungen, Ta Det Lungt
  5. “Theme For A Pretty Girl That Makes You Believe God Exists” - Eels, Blinking Lights and Other Revelations
  6. “Swarfiga” - Kasabian, Ryder Pauper Lunatic Asylum
  7. “45:33” - LCD Soundsystem, 45:33
  8. “Everyone’s A VIP To Someone” - The Go! Team, Thunder, Lightning, Strike
  9. “Bron Yr Aur” - Led Zepplin, Physical Graffiti
  10. “Year of the Dragon” - Sufjan Stevens (Arranged by Nico Muhly), Run Rabbit Run
  11. “Cecilia Ann” - PIxies, Bossanova
Direct download: Instrumental_1.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 8:42am PDT