The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

Before the Internet changed everything there were two distinct and opposing types of popular music, Indie and mainstream. It was the head versus the heart,  the cool kids versus the pop kids and you had to come down on one side or the other. But the lines have been blurring over the past decade and those sides don't mean much any more. We now live in a world where pop music is so strange and creative that it's found acceptance with rock critics and indie snobs. Listen as we explore the genre-transcending melodies of Justin Timberlake, the indie-friendly quirkiness of Solange, (sister of mega pop star Beyonce) and the possibly ironic but ultimate acceptance of Hall and Oates.

Track List:

1. "#Beautiful" - Miguel and Mariah Carey, The Art of Letting Go
2. "Take Back The Night" -- Justin Timberlake, The 20/20 Experience
3. "Hey Love" --  Quadron, Avalanche
4. "Blurred Lines" -- Robin Thicke, Blurred Lines
5. "The Motion" --  Drake & Sampha, Nothing Was The Same
6. "Dance Apocalyptic" -- Janelle Monae, The Electric Lady
7. "Don’t Let Me Down" -- Solange, True
8. "I Love It" -- Icona Pop, Iconic
9. "Adorn" -- Miguel, Kaleidoscope Dream
10. "I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)" -- Hall & Oates

Direct download: Indie_Approved_Pop_II_mp3.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 7:30pm PDT

Maybe it's the record high temperatures or the long weekend, but we're feeling a little distracted. Thoughts of being poolside or at the beach are taking up too much space in our heads for us to get any work done. So we've decided to feed these wandering thoughts with some great additions to your summer playlists. From Washed Out to jj, we're playing some new tracks that are sure to convince you that, "it's really hot out" is a totally legitimate excuse for skipping work.
Track list:
1. "It All Feels Right" -- Washed Out, Paracosm
2. "Collard Greens" -- Schoolboy Q featuring Kendrick Lamar, Oxymoron
3. "Can’t Understand" -- Metz, single
4. "Come Save Me" -- Jagwar Ma, Howlin
5. "Royals" -- Lorde, The Love Club  
6. "Unsatisfied" (The Replacement cover) -- Calexico, Maybe on Monday EP
7. "fågelsången" -- jj, V
8. "Bring the Noize" -- MIA, Bring the Noize  
9. "No Below" -- Speedy Ortiz, Major Arcana
10. "Beyond" -- Daftside, Random Access Memories Memories

Direct download: July_2013_New_Music_.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 10:43am PDT