The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

2010 turned out to be a great year for independent music. This came as a surprise considering how fantastic last year was. Between Animal Collective, The xx, Phoenix and Dirty Projectors, 2009 looked like it would be hard year to beat. But, as this episode points out, 2010 gave us plenty of artistis that pushed musical boundaries and delivered new and exciting songs. In this episode Noise Pop invites our friends and colleagues to choose their favorite song of the year and give some context to their decision. Here is the guest list and their corresponding song choices:


Intro - Tanlines, Real Life

2. Stacy Horne of Noise Pop & Treasure Island Music Festival - Die Antwoord, Enter The Ninja

3. Peter Arko of Ears of the Beholder - Wild Nothing, Golden Haze

4. Caleb Morairity of - Delorean, Stay Close

5. Will Abrahamson of - Big K.R.I.T., Something

6. Ben Van Houten and Nicole Browner of The Bay Bridged - The Fresh and Only's, Waterfall

7. Mona Dehghan of Domino Records - Beach House, Used to Be

8. Jesse Fox of Foxconsox blog/NP Podcast - Sharon Van Etten, Love More


9. Dawson Ludwig of Noise Pop - Tennis, Marathon




Direct download: Best_of_the_Year_2010.mp3
Category:podcasts -- posted at: 1:43pm PDT

The first installment of the 2011 Noise Pop Festival has been announced and we very excited about all of the artists. On this podcast episode we listen to 9 bands who will be playing Noise Pop this year. There are indie rock behemoths like Yo La Tengo and up-and-coming bands like Dominant Legs. As usual, Jesse Fox returns, this time to discuss his favorite artist of al time, Ted Leo, who is also playing Noise Pop.

Track list is below:
1. Yo La Tengo - Autumn Sweater, I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One

2. Dominant Legs - Clawing Out at the Walls, Young at Life and Love EP

3. How to Dress Well - Ready for the World, Love Remains

4. Ted Leo & The Pharmacists - Bottled up in Cork, Brutalist Brick

5. Best Coast - Boyfriend, Crazy For You

6. Wavves - King of the Beach, King of the Beach

7. The Stone Foxes - Black Rolling Thunder, The Stone Foxes

8. Telekinesis - Car Crash, 12 Desperate Straight Lines

9. The Concretes - Good Evening, WYWH


Direct download: Noise_Pop_December_Podcast.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 1:41pm PDT

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 12.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px Verdana}

This month the podcast features an all star lineup of new songs. We at Noise Pop are particularly excited about Oberhofer, a 19 year old wonder kid who makes anyone over drinking age feel inadequate at life. We also invite back Jesse Fox to recap Treasure Island and play a song from Emerald's guitarist Marc Mcguire (no, not the baseball player). 

Here is the full lineup

1. Gold Panda: Snow & Taxis - Lucky Shiner

2. Pepper Rabbit: Older Brother - Beauregard

3. Avey Tare: Lucky 1- Down There

4. Oberhofer: Away FRM U - o0Oo0Oo

5. Warpaint: Undertow - The Fool

6. Marc Mcguire: Brain Storm (For Erin)- Living With Yourself

7. Wye Oak: I Hope You Die - My Neighbor/My Creator

8. Chasing Kings: Dark Sunglasses - The Current State of our Future

9. Andrew Bird: Hot Math - Useless Creatures

Direct download: November_Noise_Pop_Podcast.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 5:19pm PDT

This month we play music ranging from calm acoustic ballads to abrasive garage rock - strap yourself in for a roller coaster episode.
Our Word of Mouth guest is Jesse Fox, from Solstice and Fly Bar. He shows us the quiet heartbreaking music of Hurray for the Riff Raff.
Track List
1. Houses - Soak it Up
2. Of Montreal - Coquette Coquette
3. No Age - Glitter
4. Double Dagger - Luxury Condos For The Poor
5. Sufjan Stevens - Heirloom
6. Hurray for the Riff Raff - Young Blood Blues
7. The Sea and Cake - Car Alarm
8. The Walkmen - Angela Surf City
9. How To Dress Well - Decisions (featuring Yuksel Arslan)


Direct download: NP_Podcast_-_September.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 4:34pm PDT

The rest of the northern hemisphere only has a few more weeks of summer, but San Francisco is just getting ready to start theirs (September and October). To celebrate SF's strange weather patterns, we've assembled a mix of beach music that is the perfect ode to the heat and sun.  We're also introducing a new segment called Word of Mouth, where we bring in a guest to play a few songs for us. This time Peter Arko, of the blog Ears of the Beholder. brings us 3 awesome new tunes from emerging artists.


Here is the full tracklist

Tennis - Marathon

The Drums - Let’s Go Surfing

Baths - Aminals


Word of Mouth with Ears of the Beholder:

We Are Trees - Sunrise Sunset 

The Bird Day - Gonna Beg You

Com Truise - Sundriped 


Menomena - Five Little Rooms

Best Coast - Boyfriend

Magic Bullets - Lying Around


Direct download: August_2010_-_Featuring_Best_Coast_The_Drums_Tennis_Baths_and_more..._2.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:26pm PDT

Treasure Island is back! The lineup has been announced and we are very excited about the artist on the bill. On this podcast episode we play a selection of artists from this year's festival, including: The National, !!!, Broken Social Scene, Maus Haus, Surfer Blood, Ra Ra Riot, and more...

For the full festival lineup and ticketing information go to

Next month's podcast will resume with new music podcast, but for now enjoy the little taste of Treasure Island that we've put together for you.

Direct download: Noise_Pop_July_Podcast_take_2.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 12:34pm PDT

 Noise Pop Podcast, June 2010

In this episode we look back at the 2010 Noise Pop Music Festival and play some of our favorite artists who performed. This podcast includes songs by Harlem, Free Energy, Best Coast, Butterfly Bones, Memory Tapes and many more.

Direct download: Noise_Pop_June_podcast.mp3
Category:podcasts -- posted at: 4:25pm PDT