The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

There is an unofficial game music nerds play online; it's silly, it's futile and it is incredibly addictive, it's 'guess the festival lineup'. Music fans spend hours researching what bands are likely to play what festival and they share their predictions online where they argue endlessly about it. The best predictions are usually based on record release dates, tour schedules, the last time a band played a certain festival, what kind of sound they a band is, etc...

All festivals get this treatment, but no festival is obsessed over quite as much as Coachella. It's the white whale of lineup predictions and it seems to start earlier each year. So, with this year's festival coming to a close we decided it would be novel to take the first known stab at next year's festival lineup. We brirefly discuss this year's artists and then dive right into our logical choices for 2013. Of course, nothing is confirmed, these are merely guesses, but as you'll hear it's a hell of a lot of fun to play this guessing game.

Direct download: Coachella_2013_Prediction.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:50pm PDT

Blame it on the season! There's been an abonormal amount of new music released in the last few weeks and man, is wonderful. Clearly spring has sprung for the music industry and we're forunate enough to reap the rewards. We had such a hard time narrowing the song selection down to just ten that we decided to expand the tracklist to fifteen. Turn up your headphones/speakers and dig into this bounty of great new music.
1. "Hornet’s Nest" -- Jonti, Twirligig 
2. "All of Me" -- Tanlines, Mixed Emotions
3. “I Am Not A Game” -- Ty Segal and White Fence, Hair
4. "Jasmine" -- Jai Paul, single
5. "Ain’t It So" -- PAPA - A Good Woman Is Hard to Find EP
6. "Sinful Nature" -- Bear in Heaven, I Love You, It’s Cool
7. "Ice Sheets on Feet Prints" --  Dustin Wong, Dreams Say, View, Create, Shadow Leads
8. "The House That Heaven Built" -- Japandroids, Celebration Rock
9. "Sa Sa Samoa (Elite Gymnastics Remix)" -- Korallreven, single
10. "Fronting" -- Saskatchewan, unnamed debut LP
11. "Get Alive" -- AU, Both Lights
12. "Afria Talks to You" -- Delicate Steve, Positive Force
13. "Friend Crush" -- FRIENDS, single
14. "Turn on the Sunshine" -- Suckers Candy Sald
15. "Headed for the door" -- Moonface, With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery
Direct download: April_2012.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 9:04pm PDT