The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

It's almost the time of year when what seems like every band in the world descends into one spot in California. And no, we're not talking about that festival in the desert, we're talking about Fauxchella. Fauxchella (a Spinning Platters term) is the name given to almost three weeks in April when all of the bands set to play Coachella make their way up to San Francisco. Almost every venue in the city is full of great bands night after night, and it can be pretty overwhelming deciding which bands to see. So, we at the Noise Pop Team have made a list of must-sees to help you make the most of your Fauxchella.


1. "Step" -- Vampire Weekend, Modern Vampires of the City
2. "Red Right Hand" -- Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Let Love In
3. "Ms" -- Alt J, An Awesome Wave
4. "Dramamine" -- Modest Mouse, This Is a Long Drive For Someone With Nothing to Think About
5. "My Number" -- Foals, Holy Fire
6. "Herietta" -- Yeasayer, Fragrant World
7.  "Daniel" -- Bat For Lashes, Daniel
8. "Grammy" (Soulja Boy cover) -- Purity Ring, single
9. "House That Heaven Built" -- Japandroids,  Celebration Rock

10. "Digital Lion" -- James Blake, Overgrown

Direct download: Fauxchella_Podcast_file.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:59pm PDT

Spring is around the corner, so we've decided to play music to get you excited for the warmer weather, budding trees and longer days. From the warmth of Rhye to the summer festival staple of Thom Yorke with Atoms for Peace, we're playing tracks to welcome in the long-awaited end to winter. Hope to see you at SXSW


1. “Open” -- Rhye, Open 
2. “The Possessed” -- Glass Candy, Italians Do It Better second After Dark compilation
3. “Hood Party” -- Fat Tony (feat. Kool A.D.), Smart Ass Black Boy
4. “In a Dream” -- High Highs, Open Season 
5. “Stickin’ to the Sheets” -- Hello Ocho, Hello Ocho
6. “It’s Been So Long” -- Cleaners of Venus, Cleaners from Venus box set
7. “Slyd” -- !!!, THR!!!ER
8. “Shout It Out” -- Milkal Cronin, MCII
9. “Demon Dance” -- Surfer Blood, Pythons 
10. “Ingenue” -- Atoms for Peace, Amok

Direct download: March_13_Podcast.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 6:29pm PDT