The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

The Noise Pop crew came back from SXSW with a few battle scars and some stories to tell. In this episode we play several new tracks from artists that delivered standout performances in Austin and Dawson and Jaime share some of their experiences. We also discuss the nature of hyped bands at the festival and debate the merits of James Blake. At the end we play an interview from one of our favorite local bands Melted Toys, conducted by our friend Robert Khoury from the music blog See The Leaves


1. Evan Voytas - Tomorrow Night We'll Go Anywhere, Tomorrow Night We'll Go Anywhere

2. Trampled By Turtles - Wait So Long, Palomino

3. Cults - Oh My God, Single

4. Mount Kimbie - Before I Move Off, Crooks & Lovers

5. James Blake - To Care (Like You), James Blake

6. Tyler the Creator feat. Hodgy Beats - Slow it Down, Odd Future Tape

7. Oregon Bike Trails - High School Lover, Single

8. That Ghost - To Like You, Song Out Here

9. Melted Toys - Come On, Washed & Dried EP

10. The National - Think You Can Wait, Win Win Soundtrack 




Direct download: SXSW_Hangover__Melted_Toys_Interview.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:16pm PDT

The 2011 Noise Pop Music Festival has come and gone. We all had a fantastic time, and we are over-the-top excited about next year's 20th anniversary; but until then, we've got some music to play for you guys. 

This episode is dedicated partly to a Noise Pop retrospective (with tracks from our favorite artists), while the rest of the songs are new music that we love. Enjoy, and be sure to subscribe to the podcast through iTunes.


1. Lovers Lane -  HUNX and his PUNX, Too Young To Be In Love (Noise Pop retrospective)

2. Gone Without Feeling - The Black Ryder, Buy The Ticket, Take The Ride (Noise Pop retrospective)

3. Hard Smart Beta - Starfucker, Starfucker

4. Under Cover of Darkness - The Strokes, Angles

5. Don't Waste It - MAN/MIRACLE, Don't Waste It (single)

6. Don't Stop - The Dodos, No Color

7. Landscapes - Gregory & The Hawk, Leche (Noise Pop retrospective)

8. Sleep Talk - Shannon and The Clams, Sleep Talk (Noise Pop retrospective)

9. Still The Same Person - Sister Crayon, Bellow (Noise Pop retrospective)

10. Look at Me Now (Remix) - The AK

Direct download: March_Podcast_1.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 4:46pm PDT