The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

The Noise Pop Podcast had to put a hold on the Sophomore Slump/Sophomore Success episode; however, rest assured, it will see the light of day soon enough. In the meantime enjoy another episode that features 10 of the best tracks circulating on the internet right now. This track list ranges from the aggressive noise rock of Male Bonding to the decadent R&B pop of the Weeknd. The closing track on this episode is especially remarkable, Youth Lagoon's "July", it's one of those sad yet uplifting songs; so be careful where you listen to it, you might cry.

Track list
1. "Left Behind" --Yellow Ostrich, The Mistress
2. "Life of The Party" -- The Weeknd, Thursday
3. "An Argument with Myself" -- Jens Lekman, An Argument with Myself EP
4. "Bones" -- Male Bonding, Endless Now
5. "Acid" -- Yawn, Open Season
6. "K is for Kelson" -- Bibo, Mind Bokeh
7. "The Same Thing" -- Cass McCombs, Humor Risk
8. "Balance" -- Future Islands, On The Water
9. "Some Children" - Holy Ghost! feat. Michael McDonald, Holy Ghost!

Ear About Town
Dawson - Covers: A Culinary Tribute to Serge Gainsbourg
Olivia - Celine Dion is Amazing
Jaime - Lil Wayne vs. J-Lie

10. "July" -- Youth Lagoon, The Year of Hibernation

Direct download: August_2011_The_Second.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 4:00pm PDT

On this episode the Noise Pop Podcast brings you 10 of the best new tracks circulating the web right now. Just sit back and enjoy the music. In preperation for the next podcast episode, Sophomore Slump/Sophomore Success, we are asking our listeners to call into our hotline 585-4NOISE5/585-466-4735 and leave their Ear About Town for their favorite or least favorite sophomore record.We will play your recording on air.

Here is this weeks' track list:

1. Dreamer - Cheerleader, Cheerleader 

2. 6 More Weeks - Erika Spring, S/T-Single

3. Web In Front - Archers of Loaf, Icky Mettle Deluxe Remastered

4. Hoop of Love - Dominant Legs, Invitation

5. Hard to Explain - Owen Pallet, Stereogum Presents... Stroked

6. Just Ride it - Cuckoo Chaos, Woman

7. It's Around You - ANR, Stay Kids 

8. The Sea - Exitmusic, Silence Masters 

9. Secret Chiefs - Big Spider's Back, Memory Man 

Ear About Town 

Dawson: Let's Talk About Love by Carl Wilson

Jaime: Nardwuar

Olivia: Cut My Teeth video by Peggy Sue

10. Tuareg Dancehall - Highlife, Best Bless (Dawson) 

Direct download: August_2011.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 10:28pm PDT