The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.
We know major chords make us feel happy, and minor chords make us feel sad. But beyond that, there is so much more to the composition of a song; it's a careful construction that can conjure up a variety of emotions, from anxiety to exuberance. So this episode, we're diving into the theory behind the songs we love and finding out what makes them so good from a technical perspective. 
We decided to do this topic after reading the following articles about music criticism and composition. Check them out:
Track list:
1. “Don't Play With Guns” --  Black Angels, Indigo Meadow
2. “Blue Moon” -- Beck, Morning Phase
3.  “About to Die” -- Dirty Projectors, Swing Lo Magellan 
4. “Birthday Song” -- Frankie Cosmos, Zentropy
5. “Water Me” -- FKA twigs, EP2
6. “Broken Heart” -- Dr. Dog, B-Room
7. “Girlfriend” -- Ty Segall, Melted
Direct download: Musical_Theory.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 10:26am PDT

With so many new tracks in circulation recently, we've had a hard time narrowing down our choices for each episode. So we did things a little differently this episode and created a playlist for you, played all the way through with no interruptions. As much as we love to talk, we'll let the music speak for itself this time. New tracks from Wye Oak, Twin Shadow, Thee Oh Sees (surprisingly!) and a nod to the late DJ Rashad.


1. “Coffee” - Sylvan Esso, Sylvan Esso
2. “Eurydice” - The Pains of Being Pure at Heart, Days of Abandon
3.  “Drop” - Thee Oh Sees Drop
4. “Fade White” - Baths Ocean Death EP
5. “Water Fountain” - Tune-Yards, Nikki Nack
6. “Running Wild” - La Sera, Hour of the Dawn
7. “The Tower” - Wye Oak, Shriek
8. “Like You Used To” - Kidnap Kid, Stronger EP
9. “To The Top” - Twin Shadow, single
10.”Attachment” - Hannah Diamond, single
11. “Waterfall” - Fear of Men, Loom EP
12. “Black Diamond” - Ayer, single
13. “Ascii Bott” - Percussions, text
14. “I’m Gone” - DJ Rashad, Just A Taste

Direct download: May_New_Music.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 8:01am PDT