The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

2010 turned out to be a great year for independent music. This came as a surprise considering how fantastic last year was. Between Animal Collective, The xx, Phoenix and Dirty Projectors, 2009 looked like it would be hard year to beat. But, as this episode points out, 2010 gave us plenty of artistis that pushed musical boundaries and delivered new and exciting songs. In this episode Noise Pop invites our friends and colleagues to choose their favorite song of the year and give some context to their decision. Here is the guest list and their corresponding song choices:


Intro - Tanlines, Real Life

2. Stacy Horne of Noise Pop & Treasure Island Music Festival - Die Antwoord, Enter The Ninja

3. Peter Arko of Ears of the Beholder - Wild Nothing, Golden Haze

4. Caleb Morairity of - Delorean, Stay Close

5. Will Abrahamson of - Big K.R.I.T., Something

6. Ben Van Houten and Nicole Browner of The Bay Bridged - The Fresh and Only's, Waterfall

7. Mona Dehghan of Domino Records - Beach House, Used to Be

8. Jesse Fox of Foxconsox blog/NP Podcast - Sharon Van Etten, Love More


9. Dawson Ludwig of Noise Pop - Tennis, Marathon




Direct download: Best_of_the_Year_2010.mp3
Category:podcasts -- posted at: 1:43pm PDT

The first installment of the 2011 Noise Pop Festival has been announced and we very excited about all of the artists. On this podcast episode we listen to 9 bands who will be playing Noise Pop this year. There are indie rock behemoths like Yo La Tengo and up-and-coming bands like Dominant Legs. As usual, Jesse Fox returns, this time to discuss his favorite artist of al time, Ted Leo, who is also playing Noise Pop.

Track list is below:
1. Yo La Tengo - Autumn Sweater, I Can Hear the Heart Beating as One

2. Dominant Legs - Clawing Out at the Walls, Young at Life and Love EP

3. How to Dress Well - Ready for the World, Love Remains

4. Ted Leo & The Pharmacists - Bottled up in Cork, Brutalist Brick

5. Best Coast - Boyfriend, Crazy For You

6. Wavves - King of the Beach, King of the Beach

7. The Stone Foxes - Black Rolling Thunder, The Stone Foxes

8. Telekinesis - Car Crash, 12 Desperate Straight Lines

9. The Concretes - Good Evening, WYWH


Direct download: Noise_Pop_December_Podcast.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 1:41pm PDT