The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

We know you're out there. In public, you're proudly listening to the latest in indie obscurity. But every now and then, when no one is looking, you're singing along (and maybe dancing a little) to those ubiquitous earworms known as pop songs. Maybe they're your guilty pleasure, or maybe you admire the production and songwriting, or maybe they're just the tune you have stuck in your head even though you've never listened to the song on purpose. Either way, in this week's episode, we're taking a break from the best in indie and indulging in our latent pop tendencies. But don't worry, we haven't completely jumped the indie ship. We've curated a list of indie-approved pop tunes - songs that, in one way or another, have been created, covered, or just embraced by the indie community. Some of these tracks are discussed and analyzed, but others are just pure indulgence, because let's face it -- sometimes, we all just need to hear some Beyonce.


1. "Dancing On My Own" -- Robyn, Body Talk Pt. 1
2. "Lovestoned" -- Justin Timberlake, FutureSex/LoveSounds
3. "Climax" -- Usher, Looking For Myself
4. "Boyfriend" -- Justin Bieber, Believe
5. "2012 (You Must Be Upgraded)" -- The Flaming Lips feat. Ke$ha & Biz Markie, The Flaming Lips and Heady Fwends
6. "Toxic" -- Britney Spears, In the Zone
7. "Since U Been Gone" -- Kelly Clarkson, Breakaway
8. "Trapped in the Closet Ch.1" -- R. Kelly, TP.3 Reloaded
9. "Call Me Maybe" -- Carly Rae Jepsen, Curiosity
10. "Countdown" -- Beyoncé, 4

Direct download: Indie_Approved_Pop.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:44am PDT

Enjoy the latest batch of new music hand-selected by the Noise Pop team. At the beginning of each month they scour the web for the 10 best tracks and serve it up on a podcast platter for you to enjoy. On this episode they offer new music from indie mainstays such as The Walkmen and Dan Deacon as well tracks from exciting new artists like Ms Mr and Icky Blossoms.


1. "Lots" -- Dan Deacon, America
2. "Heartbreaker" -- The Walkmen, Heaven
3. "Hurricane" -- MS MR, Hurricane
4. "Five Seconds" -- Twin Shadow, Confess 
5. "Swag" -- Ty Segall Band, In A Cloud II
6. "Transparency Pt. II" -- d’Eon, LP
7. "Ocean Floor for Everything" -- How to Dress Well, Total Loss 
8. "Perfect Vision" -- Icky Blossoms, Icky Blossoms
9. "Stuck" -- Birthmark, Antibodies 
10. "Nat’s Theme" -- Chautauqua, Suspended Animation
Direct download: July_2012.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 1:03am PDT