The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.

Alright fellow music nerds (and expert Googlers), this episode is for you. The Noise Pop Team has decided to test your music knowledge by playing a game based loosely on Six Degrees of Separation, or Kevin Bacon. It goes a little something like this: there are eight tracks in this playlist and each one is connected to the previous one, identify the tracks and the seven connections in between each song and you could win! Put your answers in the comments below this episode on, and the first person to identify them all or the person who gets the most correct will win select Noise Pop merchandise. Good luck!

Direct download: Six_Degrees_of_Kevin_Barnes.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 9:27am PDT

The indie song of the summer may well have passed, but there's still a wealth of new music to feast your ears upon this month. This episode, the Noise Pop Team brings you fresh sounds from some promising new acts like Kisses and Elite Gymnastics, balanced with recent releases from reliable indie greats like David Byrne and AC Newman. This well-rounded list suggests a fall full of potential for indie music.


1. "I'm Not Talking" -- AC Newman, Shut Down the Streets

2. "Rest Your Mind" -- K Flay (feat. Felix Cartal), single

3. "Andreja 4 Ever" -- Elite Gymnastics, Adult Swim Singles Program

4. "Who" -- David Byrne and St Vincent, Love This Giant

5. "Jonathan's Hope" -- WHY?, Mumps, etc.

6. "Only In My Dreams" -- Ariel Pink's Haunted Graffiti, Mature Themes

7. "Cheap Beer" -- Fidlar, untitled LP

8. "French Lessons" -- Levek, Look a Little Closer

9. "False Astronomy" -- Mister Lies, Hidden Neighbors EP

10. "Funny Heartbeat" -- Kisses, single

11 Johnny Greenwood - Application 45 Version 1, The Master Original Soundtrack

Direct download: September_Podcast.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 4:58pm PDT