The Noise Pop Podcast
The Noise Pop Podcast is a monthly series showcasing new music discoveries and a diverse slate of guest artists from the independent music scene and beyond. Produced by Noise Pop, San Francisco’s go-to indie music, arts and film festival for over 25 years and hosted by music journalist Adrian Spinelli (Paste Magazine, SF Chronicle, etc..), we deliver engaging episodes that are always rooted in the music that we love and that we know you will too. Past guests have included: Khruangbin, Thao Nguyen, Quantic, Wye Oak, Helado Negro, Speedy Ortiz, Rexx Life Raj, Shigeto, Låpsley, Thievery Corporation and more.
In this edition of the Noisemakers series, host Adrian Spinelli ventured to Austin's SXSW Festival to connect with four standout artists. A song from each artist is featured, along with interviews discussing the nuances of each cut. The episode features New York psych rock band Sunflower Bean, Bay Area rapper Nef The Pharaoh, English singer/producer Låpsley and New York ruckus rock duo Diet Cig. All made a strong impression at the festival and together make up Noisemakers, SXSW edition. 

Track list:

Sunflower Bean - "Easier Said"
Nef The Pharaoh - "Come Pick Me Up"
Låpsley - "Falling Short"
Diet Cig - "Harvard"
Baio - "Endless Rhythm" (Opening Theme)
Broken Social Scene - "Mossbreaker" (background audio in intro) 
* Sunflower Bean's "Easier Said" video
Direct download: NOISE_POP_PODCAST_20160322.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 1:00pm PDT

Noise Pop Festival took over San Francisco's best clubs and concert halls for a week and a half this past February. While we navigated from The Independent to The Warfield, from the Rickshaw to Swedish American Hall and then some, we made some stops along the way to bring you interviews with some promising up and comers at the fest in Day Wave, HEARTWATCH and Hazel and English and a Noise Pop festival veteran in former Walkmen frontman Hamilton Leithauser. Listen in as we explore how Noise Pop Fest continues to play a role for in the careers of artists, before, during and after their rise up the ranks. 
Songs featured:
- HEARTWATCH - "Bored At Best"
- HEARTWATCH - "Faultlines"
- Day Wave - "Drag"
- Hazel English - "Never Going Home"
- Day Wave - "Stuck"
- Hazel English - "Fix"
- Hazel English" - "It's Not Real"
- The Walkmen - "The Rat"
- Hamilton Leithauser - "11 O'Clock Friday Night"
- Hamilton Leithauser - "Alexandra"
- Baio - "Endless Rhythm" (NP Podcast theme song)
Direct download: NOISE_POP_PODCAST_20160308.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 1:24am PDT